School Holidays in Alsace and Lorraine

The school calendar for Alsace-Lorraine: when schools of North East France close for vacations and the children are on holiday. The calendar includes the dates of summer holidays, half-term, the spring break and the Christmas break...

These are the dates for Government School Calendar for the two départements of Alsace and the four départements of Lorraine.

Private schools may have slightly different dates for the school vacations; you will need to check with the relevant school.

  • The school week is 24 hours long. Some schools opt for a four day week with six hours of classes per day on Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday; others adopt a five day week (Monday to Friday)
  • The school day's hours vary between regions but is generally 08:30-16:30 with two breaks
  • Lunch hours vary from school to school and in general last one and a half to two hours
Zone B: Alsace and Lorraine


Zone B: School Year 2015-2016
Back to School Tuesday 1 September 2015
Half Term (Toussaint) Saturday 17 October 2015
Monday 2 November 2015
Christmas (Noël) Saturday 19 December 2015
Monday 4 January 2016
Winter Half Term (Hiver) Saturday 6 February 2016
Monday 22 February 2016
Easter (Printemps) Saturday 2 April 2016
Monday 18 April 2016
Summer Holidays Begin Tuesday 5 July 2016

Zone B: School Year 2016-2017
Back to School Thursday 1 September 2016
Half Term (Toussaint) Wednesday 19 October 2016
Thursday November 2016
Christmas (Noël) Saturday 17 December 2016
Tuesday 3 January 2017
Winter Half Term (Hiver) Saturday 11 February 2017
Monday 27 February 2017
Easter (Printemps) Saturday 8 April 2017
Monday 24 April 2017
Summer Holidays Begin Saturday 8 July 2017



The dates above indicate the final day of school and the day classes resume for a new term.

Do you have a suggestion to improve this page? click here...

Featured Classified

Want to make sure there's an AngloINFO in your new home? Well, you can!

Jean-Yves Gilson is our very successful franchisee for AngloINFO Luxembourg - here's his... Read more...

Freelance? IT Contractor? If you're concerned about working as self-employed in France, there is an easy alternative!

If you want to work on a freelance or contract basis, but are concerned about setting up as... Read more...

Business Directory:
Related Categories

Become Member List your Business Blog For Us

Related Discussions

image description
See more...

What's On

Puces de L'Est

Flea market at the Parc des Expositions, Nancy South, on the fourth Sunday of each month except May-August. 80 professional dealers. From 08:00-18:00. Free...

More Details

Health Insurance Quote


Welcome to AngloINFO Strasbourg

Everything you need for life in Alsace-Lorraine - local information you can trust
The AngloINFO Strasbourg Business is available for franchising

Do you dream of having your own, profitable, easy-to-operate business? AngloINFO might be the solution!

Now in its fifteenth year of business, AngloINFO is the world's leading network of expat information websites - with over three million monthly visitors from around the world.
We have an established network of 91 local websites in 44 countries with many more in development.

Our 54 local franchisees are the key to our success and come from a huge range of backgrounds, ages and nationalities. The common factor is a passion for success.